Bihar assembly polls: EC asks for CCTV footage, report from Gopalganj DM

The Election Commission has directed Gopalganj district magistrate Arshad Aziz to make available the CCTV footage of the Bhore assembly constituency counting centre that corresponded to the counting day.

The direction came following CPI-ML’s serious allegations that Gopalganj MP Alok Kumar Suman had entered the counting centres on the day of counting. The CPI-ML also made a written complaint on November 10 to the office of the chief electoral office (CEO), Bihar.

“JD-U MP Alok Kumar Suman entered the counting hall in violation of clause 16.9 of the candidates’ handbook which specifies who is allowed to enter the hall. This violation is also ground for a recount of total votes in the constituency,” said the CPI-ML representation.

Though Suman refuted the allegations, the EC took cognizance of the complaint and asked for clippings of the CCTV footage of the counting day along with a detailed report from the DM by Thursday.

“Kindly make available a detailed report along with a video clipping, as directed,” said the letter from additional CEO Balamurugan to the DM. Aziz said that he had not submitted the report so far. “But we will do it soon. Whatever decision the EC takes will be followed,” he added.

In a closely fought assembly election between the NDA and the GA, which gave the former a razor thin majority, allegations have been flying high since the counting day, with the RJD, Congress as well as the CPI-ML alleging foul play in counting on seats where the margin of victory has been very small.

“The mandate favored Mahagathbandhan, but the Election Commission’s result was in NDA’s favour. This hasn’t happened for the first time. In 2015, when Mahagathbandhan was formed, votes were in our favour but BJP made a back-door entry to gain power,” Tejashwi Prasad Yadav said, adding that the established rules of counting postal ballots first before Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) can be counted was also not followed and not all postal ballots could be counted.

In the election for the Bhore seat, JD (U) candidate Sunil Kumar won, defeating CPI (ML) candidate Jitendra Paswan. The victory margin was a mere 462 votes.

Disclaimer: This post has not been edited by our staff and is published from a syndicated feed. The Original Source of this post can be found at Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Watch | Supporters celebrating the release of Sasikala outside the Victoria Hospital

A video on Sasikala's supporters lined up outside the Victoria Hospital celebrating her release by raising slogans and distributing...

India announces pledge of $150,000 to U.N. peacebuilding

The Peacebuilding Fund is the U.N.’s financial instrument of first resort to sustain peace in countries or situations at risk or affected by violent...

Sensex Slumps Over 500 Points, Nifty Below 14,100 Led By Losses...

<!-- -->The S&P BSE Sensex and NSE Nifty 50 indexes extended losses in noon deals led by losses in banking, financial services and pharma...

Farm union calls meeting to discuss violence during tractor parade in...

Samkyukta Kisan Morcha, an umbrella body of protesting unions, has called a meeting later on Wednesday to discuss the violence that broke out...

Sivakarthikeyan’s next film is titled Don

Actor Sivakarthikeyan on Monday announced a new project, which will be bankrolled by Subaskaran of Lyca Productions. The film has been titled Don, and...

More Articles