Nitish to be sworn in as Bihar CM; Shah, Nadda to be present

Patna, November 16

Nitish Kumar will be sworn in as the Bihar chief minister for a fourth straight term on Monday at a ceremony which will be attended by the top BJP leaders including Union Home Minister Amit Shah and party president J P Nadda.

The BJP, which has clinched 31 more seats than the 43 pocketed by Kumar’s JD(U), is likely to have two deputy chief ministers on the lines of Uttar Pradesh. The names of four- time MLAs Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, who were chosen the leader and the deputy leader of the BJP legislature party on Sunday, are doing the rounds for the post.

According to BJP sources, party national general secretary (organization) B L Santhosh will also be present at the ceremony.

According to a Raj Bhavan communication, Governor Phagu Chauhan will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Kumar at 4:30 pm.

BJP workers are enthused over the visit of Shah, arguably the second most powerful man in the ruling dispensation after Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had set the tone for election campaign much before the schedule was announced by addressing the party’s first digital rally but remained conspicuous by his absence during the electioneering.

After his electoral victories in 2010 and 2015, Kumar had taken oath at star-studded ceremonies held at the sprawling Gandhi Maidan in the presence of a large number of dignitaries and the common people.

This time, however, it is going to be a much more subdued affair on account of the COVID 19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, informed sources said that besides Kumar, eight others from the four NDA constituents  BJP, JD(U), HAM and VIP may be sworn in and the cabinet may be expanded at a later stage.

Those from the JD(U) may include Ashok Choudhary, Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and Shravan Kumar.

The possible induction in the ministry of Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, who was the assembly Speaker for the past five years, is being seen as an indication of the likelihood of the BJP having struck a hard bargain for the crucial post.

Ashok Choudhary, who held building construction portfolio in the previous government and is the working president of the JD(U)’s state unit, thanked Nitish Kumar for “reposing his trust in me. This is a challenging tenure during which we also need to revive our party”.

The JD(U), which saw its tally fall to 43 from 71 in 2015, bore the brunt of the split in votes caused by the rebellion of Chirag Paswan’s LJP.

Others expected to be sworn in are Mukesh Sahni, the founding chief of Vikassheel Insaan Party, which has won four seats though Sahni himself lost, and Santosh Suman, whose father Jitan Ram Manjhi is a former chief ministr and the president of Hindustani Awam Morcha. PTI

Disclaimer: This post has not been edited by our staff and is published from a syndicated feed. The Original Source of this post can be found at Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Chris Hemsworth on 10 years of Thor: ‘When two unknown lads were given the keys to the kingdom’

It’s been a decade that Thor lifted his Mjölnir and made a thundering entry into the Marvel Cinematic Universe....

News Analysis | Did Israel misjudge Hamas’s response?

Hamas seems to be prepared for this moment, given the way it is firing rockets. The crisis escalated quickly this time. From a raid by...

TN CM announces ₹25 lakh solatium to doctors who lost lives...

The CM has also announced incentives for doctors, nurses, sanitary workers, lab workers, ambulance drivers and others involved in the battle against COVID-19 Tamil...

Eid-ul-Fitr 2021: Moon sighting date and timings in India, Saudi Arabia,...

Eid-ul-Fitr 2021 moon sighting date and timing: The culmination of the month-long holy period of fasting, in the month of Ramadan, happens with Eid-ul-Fitr,...

More Articles