Suspense on deputy CM, other ministers in Bihar

Patna, November 15 

With the election of Nitish Kumar as the leader of the ruling NDA in Bihar, all eyes are now set on who will be his deputy and other ministerial colleagues in his government.

There is some suspense whether Sushil Kumar Modi will continue as deputy chief minister or if the saffron party would choose a new face.

Also read: Bihar govt formation: NDA meeting under way, Nitish set to return as CM

Names of eight-term MLA from Gaya town Prem Kumar and that of Kameshwar Choupal, a Dalit MLC who had laid the foundation stone for the temple at Ayodhya in the 1990s, are also doing the rounds for the post in the political circles.

However, Prem Kumar said, “I have not been staking any claim. We are all committed to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s dream of making Bihar Atmanirbhar. NDA leaders will amicably decide who should be the leader and the deputy leader.”

There are strong indications that Sushil Modi, who has been deputy chief minister since 2005 and is known to share an excellent rapport with Kumar, may be retained.

Sushil Modi accompanied Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who is in Bihar to oversee the NDA meeting in the run-up to the government formation, from the state guesthouse to the chief minister’s residence giving credence to the speculations about the deputy CM’s post.

Also, it will be interesting to see who all from the four NDA constituents —  the BJP, JD(U), Hindustani Awam Morcha and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) – form the state cabinet. 

The outgoing Bihar government had a total of 30 ministers, including Nitish Kumar and Sushil Modi.

Among them, 18 were from the JD(U) and the rest 12 from the BJP.

With the BJP emerging as the largest party in the NDA with 74 MLAs and the JD(U)’s tally going down to 43 from 71, it would be interesting to see if the saffron party, which has sacrificed the post of the chief minister in honour of its pre-poll promise, will insist on having a larger share in the cabinet.

A total of 24 ministers of the previous cabinet had contested the polls and 10 of them, both from both the JD(U) and the BJP, lost.

Kumar, Sushil Modi and four others are members of the state’s Legislative Council and did not contest the polls.

Among the losing ministers from the JD(U) are Shailesh Kumar, Santosh Kumar Nirala, Jay Kumar Singh, Krishnandan Verma, Ram Sevak Singh, Ramewsh Rishideo, Khursid alias Firoz Ahmed and Lakshmeshwar Rai.

From the BJP, Suresh Kumar Sharma and Brij Kumar Bind are the two ministers who lost.

Since, two pre-poll constituents HAM and VIP have won four seats each, pushing the NDA’s tally past the magic figure of 122, there will be representation from them in the cabinet this time.

Jitan Ram Manjhi, who heads the HAM has made it clear that since he has already served as chief minister he won’t take up any ministerial assignment. PTI 

Disclaimer: This post has not been edited by our staff and is published from a syndicated feed. The Original Source of this post can be found at Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


5,250 IMFL bottles worth ₹5 lakh seized near Srivilliputtur

They were stocked in a coconut farm near Thanipparai under Watrap police station limits In a major haul, Prohibition...

Úrsula Corberó celebrates Money Heist season 5 wrap-up with set photos:...

Money Heist star Úrsula Corberó has shared a few pictures from the sets of the show to mark the end of filming of fifth...

Isha Foundation joins issue with Palanivel Thiagarajan

The Minister, in a recent interview to ‘The Hindu’, referred to Jaggi Vasudev as a “publicity hound”. The Isha Foundation has joined issue with Tamil...

How to Get Rid of Reddit’s ‘Open in App’ Pop-Up Dialogue...

Reddit's ‘Open in app' pop-up that appears when you visit its mobile site can be quite annoying. Worst, the company deliberately does not...

Cyclone Tauktae updates: Heavy rains continue in Kerala, parts of Maharashtra

The IMD on Saturday night said the cyclonic storm Tauktae, the first to hit the Indian Coast this year, has intensified into a "severe...

More Articles